(+34) 94 413 9467 (direct) - (+34) 94 413 9003 (Ext. 3147)    dita@deusto.es


Officially the Republic of Madagascar and previously known as the Malagasy Republic, is an island country in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of Southeast Africa. The nation comprises the island of Madagascar (the fourth-largest island in the world), as well as numerous smaller peripheral islands.  Madagascar is a biodiversity hotspot; over 90% of its wildlife is found nowhere else on Earth. Antananarivo is the capital and largest city in Madagascar.


University of Antananarivo logo

University of Antananarivo

University of Antananarivo ( French Université d'Antananarivo ) is the primary  public university of  Madagascar, located in the capital  Antananarivo.

The university traces its founding to 16 December 1955 and the formation of the Institute for Advanced Studies in Antananarivo. It established itself as the main center for higher education in the country, and was renamed the  University of Madagascar in 1961. It later opened five more branches in  AntsirananaFianarantsoaToamasinaToliara, and  Mahajanga.