(+34) 94 413 9467 (direct) - (+34) 94 413 9003 (Ext. 3147)    dita@deusto.es


Officially the Republic of Namibia, and formerly German South-West Africa and then South West Africa, is a country in southern Africa whose western border is the Atlantic Ocean. It shares land borders with Zambia and Angola to the north, Botswana to the east and South Africa to the south and east. Although it does not border Zimbabwe, less than 200 metres of the Zambezi River (essentially a small bulge in Botswana to achieve a Botswana/Zambia micro-border) separates them at their closest points. Its capital and largest city is Windhoek.


University of Namibia logo

University of Namibia

The University of Namibia (UNAM) was established by an Act of Parliament on August 31, 1992 as recommended by a Commission on Higher Education. Thus, a unique confluence bound the birth of the new nation in 1990 with that of the University of Namibia.

In accordance with the National Development Plans (NDP 1and2), Vision 2030, and indeed informed by its motto: "Education, Service, Development", the University's programmes are designed to meet national human resource requirements through quality teaching, research, consultancy and community service.

The Founding Chancellor of the University and Father of the Namibian Nation, H.E. Dr. Sam Nujoma declared his vision of UNAM at inception as 'a centre of higher learning served by dedicated men and women of quality, and producing graduates to uplift the standards of living of Namibian people.'